Request from the Medical School


Hey everyone,

The Medical school have recently emailed me to ask if I’d be happy for them to refer new 1st years to this blog to get an idea of what to expect from University life as a medical student. Everything that I post about it will obviously be my own opinion and has nothing to do with the medical school per se.

There’s some topics they’ve asked me to cover, such as my experience with accomodation, how I felt when I started medicine and tips on how to deal with being away from home. However, I was wondering if there was anything in particular you soon-to-be Dundee medics would like to know about?

If there is, let me know!
DMS

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Request from the Medical School

  1. Nadia says:

    Hi – I really love your blogs as they are so insightful. You seem to answer a lot of my questions and I am not going to lie – I am quite addicted to them! :p
    l am very confused though as to which Uni to choose and wondered how you made your decision. I am a real home bird and therefore Glasgow would be my ideal choice. However, I cannot help but feel that I should take into consideration the PBL course structure and poorer student satisfaction associated with Glasgow. Also, SO many people advise me that the whole “student experience” is about learning to cope staying away. I already know it is my OWN decision but I am feeling quite lost and confused. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
    PS I have offers from Glasgow, Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Dundee – hence my dilemma!

    • Hey Nadia,

      Thanks for the feedback – glad you find it useful, and well done for getting all those offers – you must have performed well!

      When I got into medicine, I had offers from Aberdeen, Dundee and Edinburgh and so had to choose as well. I made my decision basically from the open days. Having gone to them all, I liked Aberdeen and Edinburgh but absolutely loved Dundee. I could just imagine myself studying there and thought the course suited the way I learn best! Perhaps that might be something to think about if you haven’t already. Its difficult to know sometimes which way will suit you best though… I know you mentioned Glasgow is best based on location, but I think that you should try to be away from home. There’s only a few times in your life where you get a chance to move around and going to uni is one of them! Even if you do go to Glasgow, if you can afford to, I would definitely recommend staying in halls or a flat – you’ll take much more out of uni that way! Also, I’ve obviously got to put a pitch in for Dundee – it’s located pretty central in Scotland and is only about 60-90 mins from Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Glasgow, so it’s easy to get home at the weekends!

      There’s an open day coming up for students who received offers at Dundee coming up, and there’ll be similar, I assume for other unis – so maybe go along to those. If you’ve been to open days before, you won’t have been thinking “Would I enjoy living here for the next 5 years?” so it’s probably pretty useful to have another look.

      Any other questions – fire away! And if not, let us know what you decide – might be useful for other people trying to make the same decision!

      • Nadia says:

        Thanks so much for your reply. The 9th May is looming and I’m still torn between Edinburgh, Dundee and Glasgow.
        I loved the Dundee Open Day and the friendliness of the students and doctors presenting the “lecture” and after grilling so many people have decided that I would prefer the course at Dundee BUT can I pluck up the courage to move away from home???
        Also, someone mentioned that Dundee was recently criticised about their lack of science in the course (although they had firmed Edinburgh which seems to be very science based) – any thoughts?
        I really don’t know why I am writing this – maybe I am just looking for inspiration!
        Hope your studying is going well!

        • I don’t envy your decision here! It really is tough.

          Yeah, I think Dundee are now changing first year to make it more science based. Before, I wouldn’t have thought very much about this change, but actually, having done a BMSc, medics are so far behind scientists in terms of basic science. After all, we need to be able to understand basic sciences to advance research and understand how drugs work, so maybe a bit more basic science teaching is no bad thing. Obviously, I can’t really comment on Edinburgh for a comparison!

          It’s good to try and stay informed. The only other advice I can give is go with your gut!

          DMS

          • Nadia says:

            Hi DMS,

            Hope your exams are going well!
            Just thought I would let you know my final decision……..I firmed DUNDEE!
            Thank you for all your really helpful advice and good luck with the rest of your studies.
            Nadia

            • Woop woop! Good choice 😛

              Exams are going alright thanks – halfway there now, so can almost see the light at the end of the tunnel!

              See you in September!

  2. Eva says:

    Hey, might not seem very important but could you possibly give us ideas of what we need to bring with us, clothes wise especially. What should be worn at the hospital, etc.
    :L sorry if it seems like a stupid question, but thanks anyway 🙂

  3. Simon says:

    Possibly a guide to surviving 1st year in medical school?

Leave a Reply

