Why do a BMSc?


I’ve been asking myself this question for the last wee while now – why the heck did I do a BMSc?! It’s a whole bunch of hard work, and at times, I kind of regret doing it. But why did I choose to do it in the first place?

This exact topic actually came up in my interview to get into Dundee. I think the guy interviewing me was just trying to spark a debate to see how I dealt with it, but he was arguing that a BMSc isn’t worth doing as it only gets you an extra 1 or 2 points on your job applications.

But, I would argue it can do far more than get you a couple of extra points. It can get you experience in different fields of medicine, experience in research, a chance to publish your work if you do your project well, it can show an interest in a specific field e.g. surgery if you do anatomy BMSc, plus it does automatically get you a few extra points for future job applications. If you want to do a competitive speciality, then those extra few points could mean the difference between getting the job you want and not getting it.

But, on the flip side, it’s a huge amount of work to take on, and from personal experience, going into 4th year after a tough year like this is seeming quite daunting at the moment, so I wouldn’t recommend doing one unless you’re completely sure you’ve got a good reason to do it!

This entry was posted in Dundee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

