This is a call…


As a medical student, I’ve saved approximately 0 lives.

I’m no mathematician, but 0 in 4 years ain’t great. So, after spending 6 weeks studying stem cells last semester, I’ve decided to join the Bone Marrow register.

A lot of people I know who are medical students aren’t on the register, which I find quite surprising, as these are the sort of people I think would be most likely to be donors.

My main reason for not joining previously was for two reasons: laziness and fear.

However, joining was no more difficult than ordering a book off of amazon. Then all you have to do is spit into a tube and send it off and you’re registered. I used to be afraid of having a needle stuck in my spine in case I ended up paralysed or something, but the chances of that happening are slim at best, and now, they can take stem cells from your bloodstream after you take some growth hormones.

So, once I post my spit off tomorrow, I’ll be way closer to saving a life than I’ve ever been in the last 4 years of studying medicine, and I would urge you to do the same!

(Just out of interest, has anyone ever been called up to donate stem cells? If you have, I’d be interested to hear about your experience!)

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is a call…

  1. Sophie E says:

    I’ve been on the bone marrow register for a good 4 years now and haven’t heard anything! My aunt has been on it for about 30 and hasn’t ever been contacted. I think it just depends! Have you heard anything yet?

    • Hey again Sophie!

      Nah, I haven’t heard anything. I think it’s pretty rare that you ever get called up, as they obviously try to get a good match between donor and recipients, but as you say, it just depends!

      It’d be interesting to find out what happens when you donate, as I think you have to go to London to donate, so I dont know if they cover your travel expenses etc. I also have this fear that if I do ever get called up, I’ll be called up slap-bang in the middle of exams! It’d be interesting to know whether the uni would certify this absence, as you can obviously refuse to donate. I think the guilt would kill me if I couldn’t donate because I had to sit an exam!

Leave a Reply

