Foetal position


For the last few months, if you’ve been following this blog, you’ve been quite lucky in that I’ve been having a good spell. However, the last couple of weeks, on the lead up to exams, not only did I have exam stress (which I think I’m getting better at dealing with) but also, my laptop (with all my work on it) and my car (which lets me get food from tescos) both died.

The combination of all these things basically made me just want to curl into the foetal position and hibernate until the whole thing sorted itself out.

Anyway, i deliberately didn’t make any posts on here at the time in fear that I might be so angry at life that I’d put people off medicine forever. Truth is, you have some good which remind you why you chose medicine and other days where you wonder why you ever decided to do it in the first place.

All my exams are over now, which is good, but I’ve got a list as long as my arm of things I still need to do over the christmas holiday.

Some examples of things I need to do are: write up a couple of lectures, pack to go home, work on some mock OSCE stations for next year, decide on what new laptop to get (expensive!), fix my car (expensive!) and try and do some preparation work for my 4th year project. Oh yeah, and on the side of all that, I’ve got to read a bunch of papers and try to write the other half of my dissertation!

All of this stuff is just trying to reduce the amount of work I’ll have to do next semester on the lead up to exams. Hopefully I’ll thank myself in the long run.

On the bright side, tonight is the christmas ball – an event run by DUMS. For £15 quid you get a free bar from 7pm, and few hours of ceilidh dancing, all in the hospital’s Ian Lowe centre. It’s a great night for everyone getting together as today is the last day of term before the christmas holidays, so everyones usually in good spirits.

Excited!

This entry was posted in General, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

