There’s a wealth of information out there…


The only problem sometimes is finding it.

For those who are always looking for more help, here’s a blog I found which looks really good.

I am in no way affiliated with this blog, but thought it seemed quite similar to what I’m trying to achieve here! Although, I would say that personally, I never attended any training courses to get into medicine and everything ended up ok, so don’t feel obliged to fork out cash – they can’t teach personality!

Another one that looks like it could be really good is this one. Only a couple of posts on it at this stage, but it looks well written and has an image of an iPhone showing you an ECG, which is pretty damn cool!

This entry was posted in General, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s a wealth of information out there…

  1. beyondanomie says:

    Thanks for mentioning the http://www.getintomedicineuk.com blog I help update. WordPress’ Dashboard notified me of the link; clever bit of software isn’t it?

    I’d like to emphasise that all the information on that blog is 100% free; no strings attached. I like to think of it as helping prospective students get a feel for what they’re getting themselves into in terms of a career/life choice and reassuring themselves that it’s definitely something they’re interested in and that they’re on track.

    The GeMS courses you mention are separate. It’s certainly true they don’t teach personality, though I’d suggest that they can help you present your personality in an optimal light. 🙂

    Naturally my opinion is intrinsically somewhat biased, so I suppose the more cynical reader should take this cum grano salis but I’d suggest that interview and exam practice can help improve results and that getting feedback on personal statements, etc, can help refine them. Each to their own, of course, though.

    Keep up the good blogging here, and I’m delighted you liked the look of the our blog.

    • DundeeMedStudent says:

      Haha, I completely stumbled upon your blog by accident, but it was a good find, and one I’m sure I definitely would have used had it been around when I applying to medical school! I hope it is a great success and I’m sure it’ll prove useful for many prospective medical students to come!

      I have to say, I absolutely agree that interview practice is invaluable and you should get practice wherever you can. My school was great in that respect as I they put on a ‘Mock Interview’ night. I’m not sure what I would have done had this not been an option for me – perhaps I would have gone down the interview course route. I think the point I was trying to make is that by paying for an interview course, you’re not guaranteed to get into medicine, so that people don’t feel pressured into doing the courses. I think that’s probably fair.

      On a side note, I should probably mention about the Dundee Interviews. As some people might know, the Dundee Interviews are MMIs (Multiple Mini Interviews) which consists of some of your ‘traditional’ interview stations such as “Why do you want to do medicine?” etc. etc. However, there’s also task-based stations, which are, I would say, somewhat more difficult to prepare for, and are therefore a better judgement of character, in my opinion. I’d be intrigued to know if you know of any courses that give advice on the MMI interviews?

      Thanks very much for provoking a bit of discussion, Beyondanomie – I hope by linking to your site, it gives you a few more regular viewers!
      P.S. I didn’t know the latin for a grain of salt before – you learn something new every day!

      • beyondanomie says:

        Regarding Dundee’s MMI format, prospective medical students should be aware that these kind of multi-panel interviews reflect a little bit of how clinical exams are now done both in medical school and in post-graduate college membership exams. Clinical exams have gradually moved away from the traditional “short case” & “long case” formats towards an OSCE (objective structured clinical exam) format where you have a series of standardised stations and have to move between them. The aim is to try to test a broader range of abilities and the MMI format at interview reflects this intention. Other medical schools also have multi-panel interview, although the vast majority of these focus on different kinds of oral questions/your thoughts on potential scenarios, rather than tasks per se.

        One thing we try to focus on in our interview skills workshops is how to use a flexible, easily memorised, approach to dealing with the kinds of question where you are asked your opinion on a complex clinical/ethical case. Learning a consistent & thoughtful technique is far more useful and impressive than trying to learn an inflexible rote script some people (IMO, unwisely) try to do.

        Thanks again for the link, and the discussion.

Leave a Reply

